Just got my Vistaprint wedding invitations! My honest opinion - Weddingbee-Boards (2022)

posted 5 years ago in Guests

Post # 1

Member

25 posts

Newbee

  • happilyinlove98
  • 5 years ago

Just thought I’d post a little blurb about my Vistaprint wedding invitation experience. I was deadset on ordering invitations from minted.com, where I ordered my absolutely stunning postcard save the dates. When I looked at my cart and it was $1200 Canadian, that dream quickly diedJust got my Vistaprint wedding invitations! My honest opinion - Weddingbee-Boards (2)I wanted to spend in the range of $300 CAD so I went onto Vistaprint and used one of their layouts for a wedding invitation that matched my theme, although I modified their layout and wording heavily to match what I had originally wanted on minted.com. I ordered: wedding invitations, kraft paper envelopes, monogrammed envelope seals, wedding website enclosure cards, rsvp cards & rsvp card envelopes with addressing. I ordered everything in linen, except for the rsvp cards because I thought it would be easier for guests to write back on the matte paper – WRONG CHOICE! The same card, printed on linen and then signature recycled matte, were almost 2 different colours. The linen came out a stark white whereas the matte was a creamy ivory. Stick with 1 choice for your paper.

The good:
– spent ~ $250 CAD on everything – cheap, yay! (with a 25% off promo code)
– shipping to Canada took 3 days, not the estimated 10 business days they said
– the linen was an amazing choice – absolutely adore the texture of the linen, makes it look more expensive than it is
– the quality of the printing on the linen is also nice
– CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS FANTASTIC! I called them immediately asking to switch my rsvp cards to linen as well because of the colour difference and they sent me the rsvp’s on linen, WITH NO EXTRA CHARGE, 4 days later 🙂
– simple, classy and elegant design
– able to modify the design heavily to my preference which I appreciated
– I ordered the wrong size envelopes, plus I didn’t like their kraft paper envelopes. They gave me a refund, no questions asked and I got to keep the envelopes anyway.

The not-so-good:
– I wish they offered a thicker cardstock option; the linen was printed on basically regular cardstock thickness. It’s not bad per se, but I would’ve forked over more money for a thicker board-like stock.
– the free envelopes that come with the invites are very thin and cheap-looking, definitely not wedding quality.
– the kraft paper envelopes that I paid $65 for were also poor quality; the brown was a light manilla folder-type brown, not a rich brown kraft paper-type brown (they refunded me this immediately).
– I wish they offered a gold foiling option and a wider range of designs.

Verdict: sure, invitations from minted.com would’ve been a heck of a lot nicer/thicker, but I spent a lot less and got beautiful invitations, with great customer service, but not-so-great envelopes. Ended up buying kraft paper envelopes at my local craft store instead. Glad to have found a more affordable option for stationary that will, for the most part, end up in the garbage!Just got my Vistaprint wedding invitations! My honest opinion - Weddingbee-Boards (3)

What has been your experience with Vistaprint?

Tagged:Canada, Canadian Wedding, invitations, vistaprint

Post # 2

Member

465 posts

Helper bee

  • Ambi D
  • 5 years ago
  • Wedding: September 2018

I’m thinking of using vista print to cut down on cost but I recieved the sample pack for invites and wasn’t impressed. Can you upload what your invites looked like, blur out info tho?

Post # 3

Member

47 posts

Newbee

  • happileebee
  • 5 years ago

I had a very similar experience with Vistaprint. Wanted Shutterfly because the Save-the-Dates I had made turned out just gorgeous. However, I got the exact same quantity for literally half the price over at VP. Yes, the selection and the quality of paper was less than that SF, but in the end, it’s just a piece of paper that your guests are going to throw away and I had to come to terms with that. The customer service at VP was fantastic and replaced my thank you notecards free of charge when I noticed that they didn’t print the way I thought it would look.

Post # 4

  • cb93
  • 5 years ago

Thank you for the info! It was either vistaprint for me or buying kits and printing them myself and I don’t have time for that.

Anybody ordered postcards? I want to order them with envelopes and will fork out a bit more for the better cardstock. They’re so so so much cheaper than even simple invites.

EDIT: Also, if you want to 100% DIY and use a design they started and really make it your own, don’t stick to just the ‘wedding invitation’ section. There are more variety in postcards, STD, and even Rehearsal Dinner/Shower invites that have elements exclusive to them.

Post # 5

Member

183 posts

Blushing bee

  • msmdp2017
  • 5 years ago
  • Wedding: April 2017

And your guests really don’t care about the invites anyway so all that extra money saved goes elsewhere to make your wedding extra fabulous!

Post # 6

Member

85 posts

Worker bee

  • puravida2019
  • 5 years ago
  • Wedding: January 2019

View original reply

cb93 :I ordered postcards from Vistaprint for my Save the Dates. They turned out really nice, and the matte finish was really easy to write on. I ended up sending them out in envelopes as well, since I wanted them to be in nice shape when they were received, and the envelopes came for free!

Post # 7

Member

150 posts

Blushing bee

  • knightmiss
  • 5 years ago
  • Wedding: June 2018

I used vistaprint but not the standard wedding suite, so I was a little disappointed with the paper texture for the invite (just completely flat, but good thickness I think). Anyways I ended up spray painting the edges of the invite gold for a little something something but I doubt anyone will notice =D

Just got my Vistaprint wedding invitations! My honest opinion - Weddingbee-Boards (10)

Just got my Vistaprint wedding invitations! My honest opinion - Weddingbee-Boards (11)

Just got my Vistaprint wedding invitations! My honest opinion - Weddingbee-Boards (12)

Post # 8

  • happilyinlove98
  • 5 years ago

View original reply

Ambi D : check out this video to see a close-up of what the linen and other papers look like:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1fJn3WojyXo

Will be much better than any picture I could take! 😀 It’s really worth it to spend the extra $ to get the linen in my opinion. Didn’t love the signature recycled matte.

Post # 9

Member

195 posts

Blushing bee

  • lolac
  • 5 years ago

We are going with minted. We loved our save the dates and wanted gold foil on our invitations. I know my family cares a lot about the invitations themselves (come from a artsy creative family-half the fam is in digital design), so that’s important to them.

Post # 10

Member

7717 posts

Bumble Beekeeper

  • jellybellynelly
  • 5 years ago

I used VP on a 50% off promo and was very happy with the results. I was not going for anything high end but had a specific look in mind. I got 50 STDs and 100 invites for like $60cad. We also ended up making half sheet “brochures” (just double sided photo paper + writing) for our wedding weekend itinerary that we left in the hotel rooms. I think only my mom kept the invites, so I was totally fine not spending too much!

Post # 11

Member

25 posts

Newbee

  • happilyinlove98
  • 5 years ago

View original reply

knightmiss : I love your invites! So pretty. I like the gold border idea too 🙂

Post # 12

  • samael
  • 5 years ago

I’ve used Vista Print many times to order return address labels and envelope seals, and most recently to create my wedding announcement cards.

I’m also in Canada and their shipping is usually fast.

They are priced very reasonably for what you get, but they are not a wedding invitation company. If you are extremely picky, you may not be happy with the customization options.

For my wedding cards, I purchased two high-res images of watercolour flowers from Shutterstock. One image for the card, one complimentary image for the envelope seal. I was pleased with the cardstock quality, the image and colour quality, and the crispness of the font. I had no issues with the envelope thickness.

My only complaint is that I could not find a way to order 20 additional envelopes. I did screw some up, and had to buy a box of invitation envelopes at Wal-mart, which were too big, and too thin, you could see the card image through the paper. After reading OP’s post, I wish I had contacted their customer service!

Post # 13

Member

667 posts

Busy bee

  • ukbea
  • 5 years ago
  • Wedding: September 2018

We used Vistaprint for our save the date magnets, and we had SO MANY compliments on them. There’s always an offer on, so it’s worth signing up and waiting for one that suits.

We ordered a sample of 10 invites but weren’t happy with our wording, so we’re doing the same again. The envelopes were a real letdown, to the point I’ve made my own! The actual invites were lovely, and so cheap in comparison to other places. We’ve used the linen paper upgrade and omI really happy with it.

Post # 14

Member

131 posts

Blushing bee

  • hippievan
  • 5 years ago
  • Wedding: July 2018

I think you’ve given a really fair assessment of Vistaprint.

Wegot our invitations through there and loved the whole process. The ability to completely change layouts is great and super easy to work with. I do agree about the envelopes, but it didn’t worry me too much so decided to stick with the ones Vistaprint sent. The shipping was so fast and the quality of the printing is great. Combine that with the price and it’s a no-brainer for me.

Post # 15

Member

22 posts

Newbee

  • willtiara
  • 5 years ago
  • Wedding: January 2020

For my sister last year, we designed engagement announcements, save the dates, sign in poster for the engagement, magnet favors for the wedding and one of their large vinyl banners. She did really well and we were happy with the results. However, for her wedding invite, she wanted raised lettering and ordered simple ivory with flower flourishes from Zazzle.com They were a bit more pricy, but what a difference in quality.

Top Articles

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Msgr. Benton Quitzon

Last Updated: 10/16/2022

Views: 6069

Rating: 4.2 / 5 (43 voted)

Reviews: 82% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Msgr. Benton Quitzon

Birthday: 2001-08-13

Address: 96487 Kris Cliff, Teresiafurt, WI 95201

Phone: +9418513585781

Job: Senior Designer

Hobby: Calligraphy, Rowing, Vacation, Geocaching, Web surfing, Electronics, Electronics

Introduction: My name is Msgr. Benton Quitzon, I am a comfortable, charming, thankful, happy, adventurous, handsome, precious person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.